I CALL IT WATER

multi-part annual project 2022 on the subject of water
DE / EN

In I CALL IT WATER an interdisciplinary team consisting of artists and scientists from various disciplines will focus on water as a resource. In 2022 the project will highlight different aspects of water in multiple parts, e.g. as elixir of life and destroyer of life under the influence of climate change. Being a driving force for war and peace, water will also be explored in myths, narratives, visions of the future and facts, presented in installations, objects, figures, visuals and streams.

Together with the audience the artists embark on a search for personal points of contact, global connections and emotional experiences towards the medium from which we once emerged: water.

  more about the individual sub-projects

background

Distribution, handling and dependence of water on earth. The topic has been explosive for a long time and will dominate the coming years as a socio-political challengefor all of us – not only after the current three years of drought and after a flood catastrophe in Germany.
But what we have experienced in Germany first-hand in recent years, has already happened in other parts of the world. Do we succeed in understanding the connections?
Goethe wrote in »Song of the spirits above the water«:

»Mankind's soul / Is like water: / From heaven it comes, / To heaven it rises, / And down again / To earth it must, / Eternally changing.«

In times of climate change, the new „behaviour“ of water seems to be the fitting metaphor for an organism which is out of balance.

upcoming events
HOPE SPOT OCEAN (guest performance)

29 June 2022 – starting 8 pm
30 June 2022starting 11 am
01 July 2022starting 8 pm

  at THEATER AN DER GLOCKSEE

 


ongoing: Action #1 Weltwasser

  you can participate!


Project direction Lena Kußmann.

Team Britta Bremer, Andrea Casabianchi, Ronja Donath, Johannes Fast, Laura Jakschas, Astrid Köhler, Lena Kußmann, Lotte Lindner & Till Steinbrenner, Lisa Lippert, Romina Medrano, Christiane Ostermayer, Kirsten Piepenschneider, Dennis Pörtner, Nina Reimann, Kassandra Speltri, Jonas Vietzke.


Thanks to HWK Delmenhorst and Fonds darstellende Künste #takecare for the research oportunities.

Made possible by
Thanks to
 
WATER WITCHES – The magic of water

SHOW on 3 August 2022. LOCATION Theater an der Glocksee.

A unique scenic panel discussion in which moderation, truth, fiction and play blur together. Invited guests are the water shaman Aryani Kriegenburg and the down-to-earth freighter captain Antje Herbst, who sails the biggest boats across the seven seas.

Between, before and after the talks, artists Lena Kußmann and Kassandra Speltri serve up their own witchcraft and found objects in very old and completely new robes. It goes without saying that the Ihme river also plays a role - maybe we'll even take a dip together?


→ more information

HOPE SPOT OCEAN – guest performance

SHOWS in June/July 2022. LOCATION Theater an der Glocksee.

This play dives beneath the surface of the Baltic Sea. In this theater project actress Ronja Donath and her team devote themselves to our local sea and take you on a personal journey with the protagonist Stella, sharing her discoveries and sensations around the Baltic Sea. They roam over munitions at the bottom of the sea, examine the term »marine protected area« and search for hope in the sea, on land and in us.

»Be a hero for the planet« – Dr. Sylvia Earl


→ more information

I CALL IT WATER #1 SPIRIT

SHOWS in May 2022. LOCATION Industrial Hall Bertramstraße.

In the beginning there was... the spirit floating above the water. Without water no beginning. A great emptiness, an abandoned place that wants to be filled, that used to be something. Is it promise, refuge, remnant? A reflection of the Anthropocene, the left overs with which we as humans need to learn to practice magic. The water evokes stories of hope, life, destruction and beauty.

»What do you know about water? When you talk about water – aren‘t you really talking about yourself?« – Roni Horn


→ more information

ACTION #1 WELTWASSER

We collect freshwater samples from all over the world. We ask friends, acquaintances or strangers for a sample from a water location that is typical for the water situation in their country or region. The water is filled into a small bottle and transported to Hannover by post or passenger. The samples will be presented in an exhibition later in the year and may also appear in other sub-projects.

PARTICIPATE: If you know someone abroad or are traveling yourself, you can bring a water sample with you or have it sent to us!


→ more information

ACTION #2 REFILL

VIO is produced by the Coca Cola Group, which pumps groundwater from two wells in Lüneburg, which is far too dry, fills it in bottles and sells it. Among other things, the campaign draws attention to the unnecessary bottling of drinking water in water-rich countries such as Germany, which makes large corporations even richer and destroys the environment.

The performers Lotte Lindner and Till Steinbrenner drive to Lüneburg in a performance documented as a video loop, buy 1 crate of VIO mineral water in the local store, carry it back to the Coca Cola filling station and tip it back into the ground there. They walk back with the empty crate, get a new one and start all over again ... and so on.


→ more information

EXPERIMENT #1 HEART AND FLASH

This experiment is dedicated to the exciting boundaries between purely scientific knowledge that we humans have gained so far in relation to water and the projections that we carry within us, which are more in the area of ​​mysticism, esotericism and belief and are scientifically not verifiable. Do we believe that water can absorb our energies? Can we taste them? Do we want to drink them?


→ more information

EXPERIMENT #2 DOWN BY THE RIVER

The closest access to the natural watercourse at the theater is the river Ihme. With the water that we take from flowing water, we conserve time. The river flows past us and is never the same, no matter what. It brings dirt or nutrients, snowmelt or sweat and takes something with it. It's samples accompany our project, we observe optical changes in the water and inner changes in ourselves through a new relationship to the river.


→ more information

World Water Day

On March 22nd on WORLD WATER DAY from 2pm to 9pm you can experience a lot of artistic things on the subject of water in our theater!

  • every hour on the hour we show the video installation IMAGINARY SEASCAPE by Dutch artist Lisa Snoek in collaboration with an Amsterdam DJ Jeroen Woertink
  • from approx. 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm there will be a live broadcast of the performance REFILL by the Hanoverian artist couple Lotte Lindner and Till Steinbrenner, which will take place in Lüneburg at the same time
  • in between performers will read from of a wide variety of texts on the subject of water
  • plus more artistic experiments, talks and installations

Admission is free — the 3G rule applies (for the time being) including wearing your FFP2 mask.


→ more information

starting conference and hub

From March 4th to 6th we will start the annual project with a team conference lasting several days. On Sunday, March 6th, starting at 2pm we will put together first impressions, excerpts and other things in an online exhibition on → MozillaHubs.

From 5 to 6 pm we will also be there virtually for a live talk about the project.

All you need to visit is a computer with a modern version Firefox or Chrome as browser. (We recommend accessing the site on your computer and not on your mobile phone.) You can look around with mouse/trackpad + click and move with the arrow keys on your keyboard.


→ open hub

I CALL IT WATER

Mehrteiliges Jahresprojekt 2022 zum Thema Wasser
DE / EN

Ein interdisziplinäres Team, bestehend aus Künstler*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen unterschiedlicher Sparten, widmet sich in I CALL IT WATER der Ressource Wasser. Das Projekt beleuchtet als Jahresprojekt 2022 in mehreren Teilen unterschiedliche Aspekte des Wassers, z.B. als Lebenselixier und Lebensvernichter unter den Veränderungen des Klimawandels. Das Wasser als Triebkraft für Krieg und Frieden verbindet sich mit Mythen, Erzählungen, Zukunftsvisionen und Fakten, welche künstlerischen Raum in Installationen, Objekten, Figuren, Visuals und Streams finden.

Die Künstler*innen begeben sich mit dem Publikum auf die Suche nach den persönlichen Berührungspunkten, globalen Zusammenhängen und emotionalen Erfahrungen hin zum Medium, aus dem wir einmal entstanden sind: dem Wasser.

  mehr über die einzelnen Teilprojekte

Hintergrund

Das Thema ist schon lange brisant, doch spätestens nach aktuell drei Dürrejahren und einer Flutkatastrophe in Deutschland wird es in den nächsten Jahren uns alle gesellschaftspolitisch beschäftigen: Verteilung, Umgang und Abhängigkeit von Wasser auf der Erde.
Doch was wir in den letzten Jahren in Deutschland am eigenen Leib erfuhren, ist in anderen Teilen der Welt schon längst eingetreten. Gelingt es uns, die Zusammenhänge zu begreifen? Goethe schrieb schon als »Gesang der Geister über dem Wasser«:

»Des Menschen Seele / Gleicht dem Wasser: / Vom Himmel kommt es, / Zum Himmel steigt es, / Und wieder nieder / Zur Erde muß es, / Ewig wechselnd«

In Zeiten des Klimawandels zeigt es sich wie das aufgewühlte und unruhige Seelenleben eines Planeten aus dem Gleichgewicht.

Nächste Termine
I CALL IT WATER #1 SPIRT

11. / 13. / 14. / 17. / 19. Mai 2022 – Beginn 20:30 Uhr

  Industriehalle Bertramstraße 5D
30165 Hannover (Hainholz)


laufend: Aktion #1 Weltwasser

  ihr könnt mitmachen!


Projektleitung Lena Kußmann.

Von und mit Britta Bremer, Andrea Casabianchi, Ronja Donath, Johannes Fast, Laura Jakschas, Astrid Köhler, Lena Kußmann, Lotte Lindner & Till Steinbrenner, Lisa Lippert, Romina Medrano, Christiane Ostermayer, Kirsten Piepenschneider, Dennis Pörtner, Nina Reimann, Kassandra Speltri, Jonas Vietzke.


Mit Dank an
das HWK Delmenhorst sowie den Fonds darstellende Künste #takecare für die vorhergehenden Recherchen.

Gefördert durch
Mit Dank an
 
I CALL IT WATER #1 SPIRIT

VORSTELLUNGEN im Mai 2022. SPIELORT Industriehalle Bertramstraße.

Am Anfang war … der Geist, der über dem Wasser schwebt. Ohne Wasser kein Anfang. Eine große Leere, ein verlassener Ort, der gefüllt werden will, der mal etwas war. Ist er Verheißung, Zuflucht, Überbleibsel? Ein Abbild des Anthropozäns, der Überreste, mit denen die Menschen zaubern lernen müssen. Das Wasser lockt Geschichten hervor von Hoffnung, Leben, Zerstörung und von Schönheit.

»What do you know about water? When you talk about water – aren‘t you really talking about yourself?« – Roni Horn


→ mehr Infos

AKTION #1 WELTWASSER

Wir sammeln Süßwasser Proben aus aller Welt. Wir fragen Freund*innen, Bekannte oder Fremde und bitten Sie um eine Probe von einem Wasserort, der typisch ist für die Wassersituation in ihrem Land oder Region ist. Das Wasser wird in ein kleines Fläschchen gefüllt und per Post oder per Reisende*r nach Hannover transportiert. Die Proben werden später im Jahr in einer Ausstellung präsentiert und könnten auch in anderen Teilprojekte auftauchen.

MACHT MIT: Falls ihr jemanden im Ausland kennt oder selbst verreist, könnt Ihr uns eine Wasserprobe mitbringen oder zuschicken lassen!


→ mehr Infos

AKTION #2 REFILL

VIO wird vom Coca Cola Konzern produziert, welcher mit zwei Brunnen im viel zu trockenen Lüneburg Grundwasser fördert, in Flaschen füllt und verkauft. Die Aktion macht u.a. auf die Unnötigkeit der Trinwasserabfüllung in wasserreichen Ländern wie Deutschland aufmerksam, die große Konzerne noch reicher machen und die Umwelt zerstören.

Die Performer*innen Lotte Lindner und Till Steinbrenner fahren in einer als Videoloop dokumentierten Performance nach Lüneburg, kaufen 1 Kiste VIO-Mineralwasser im Getränkemarkt, tragen es zurück zur Coca Cola Abfüllstation und kippen es dort zurück in die Erde. Sie laufen mit der leeren Kiste zurück, holen eine neue usw.


→ mehr Infos

EXPERIMENT #1 HEART AND FLASH

Dieses Experiment widmet sich der spannenden Grenze zwischen rein wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen, die wir Menschen in Bezug auf das Wasser bisher erlangten, und den Projektionen, die wir in uns tragen, die sich eher im Bereich Mystik, Esoterik und Glauben bewegen und wissenschaftlich nicht nachweisbar sind. Glauben wir, dass Wasser unsere Energien aufnehmen kann? Können wir sie schmecken? Wollen wir sie trinken?


→ mehr Infos

EXPERIMENT #2 UNTEN AM FLUSS

Der dichteste Zugang zu natürlichem Wasserlauf am Theater ist die Ihme. Mit dem Wasser, das wir dem fliessenden Gewässer entnehmen, konservieren wir die Zeit. Der Fluss fließt an uns vorbei und ist niemals derselbe, egal was passiert. Er bringt Dreck oder Nährstoffe, Schneeschmelze oder Schweiß vorbei und nimmt etwas mit. Seine Proben begleiten unser Projekt, wir beobachten optische Veränderungen des Wassers und innere Veränderungen in uns selbst durch einen neuen Bezug zum Fluss.


→ mehr Infos

WELTWASSERTAG

Am 22. März könnt Ihr zum WELTWASSERTAG von 14 bis 21 Uhr bei uns im Theater viel Künstlerisches zum Thema Wasser erleben!

  • zu jeder vollen Stunde zeigen wir die Videoinstallation IMAGINARY SEASCAPE der holländischen Künstlerin Lisa Snoek in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Amsterdamer DJ Jeroen Woertink
  • von ca. 16:15 bis 17:30 Uhr übertragen wir die in Lüneburg stattfindende Performance REFILL des hannoverschen Künstlerpaars Lotte Lindner und Till Steinbrenner
  • dazwischen gibt es Lesungen unterschiedlichster Texte zum Thema Wasser, gelesen von Schauspieler*innen des Projektteams
  • künstlerische Experimente und Installationen
  • und die Möglichkeit zum persönlichen Austausch mit dem Team zum Thema

Der Eintritt ist frei — es gilt (vorerst) die 3G Regel und das Tragen einer FFP2-Maske.


→ mehr Infos

Startkonferenz und Hub

Vom 4. bis 6. März starten wir mit einer mehrtägigen Team-Konferenz ins Jahresprojekt. Am Sonntag, 6. März ab 14 Uhr stellen wir Euch daraus erste Impressionen, Ausschnitte und anderes in einer online begehbaren Ausstellung auf → MozillaHubs zusammen.

Von 17 bis 18 Uhr werden wir dort auch für einen Live-Talk über das Projekt virtuell vor Ort sein.

Für den Besuch benötigt Ihr lediglich einen Computer mit aktuellem Firefox oder Chrome als Browser. (Wir empfehlen, die Seite am Computer und nicht auf dem Handy aufzurufen.) Umsehen könnt Ihr Euch mit Maus/Trackpad + Klick und bewegen mittels der Pfeiltasten Eurer Tastatur.


→ zum Hub